home | faq | registered students log-in | join our mailing list | e-mail us | to order

 

California Requirements for Ph.D.s, MFTs, LCSWs,  RNs, LVNs, and Psych Techs

Please check the Board websites, as requirements do change for mandated continuing education courses.

The Therapist's Responsibility

Please remember it is the individual therapist's responsibility to check if the courses they want to take will count toward the continuing education requirement, and to maintain records of these courses for license renewal and in the event of an audit. While we strive to keep current, boards do change their requirements. Please check with your board frequently!
Board of Psychology
Board of Behavioral Sciences
CA Board of Registered Nursing
Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians
 


is approved by the:

American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists - www.psychceu.com maintains responsibility for this program and its content.
Association for Play Therapy (Non-contact hours) APT Approved Provider (#02-117)
Board of Registered Nursing (#13620)
California Board of Behavioral Science accepts our CE Provider Approvals through APA, NASW, and NBCC. Course meets the qualifications for hours of continuing education credit for LMFTs, LCSWs, LPCCs, and/or LEPs as required by the California Board of Behavioral Science
Florida Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, Mental Health Counseling (BAP 753 )
NAADAC - The Association for Addiction Professionals (#575)
National Board for Certified Counselors - www.psychceu.com has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 6055. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. www.psychceu.com is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs. (ACEP #6055)
Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors (#1761)
The Texas Board of Social Work Examiners (#6246)

www.psychceu.com
maintains responsibility for the program.

 

 

New Board of Psychology MCEP regulations take effect December 16, 2006.
Effective December 16, 2006, psychologists may earn up to 75% (27 hours) of the required 36 hours of Continuing Education through Independent Learning (previously called distance learning). This change in the regulations applies to anyone with a license expiration date of December 31, 2006 or later. For details of the Independent (Distance) Learning proposal, go to http://www.psychboard.ca.gov/

 

Great news from www.psychceu.com

www.psychceu.com
is now approved by the
American Psychological Association
to offer continuing professional education for psychologists. www.psychceu.com maintains responsibility for the program.

Our approval by American Psychological Association to offer continuing education for psychologists is accepted by MCEP, which administers the CA BOP ces.
The California Board of Psychology states:

The following courses count toward the continuing education requirements:
* Courses that are provided by American Psychological Association (APA) approved sponsors
http://www.psychboard.ca.gov/



NEW! All of our courses are now interactive!
 and
California LCSWs and MFTs can now take all of their ceus online!!!!!!!!!!

BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES
EFFECTIVE FEBRUARY 1, 2003


This amendment to Section 1887 of Article 8, Division 18 of Title 16, of the California Code of Regulations allows licensees the convenience of obtaining all 36 hours of required continuing education through interactive, electronic means and to allow continuing education providers the opportunity to offer all trainings from another location by way of audiovisual means. (Please note: Self-study continuing education, via reading a book, or listening to an audiotape, are still limited to 12 units/two year renewal period, or 1/3 of the total units required.)

This means that all California LCSWs and MFTs can now take all of their ceus online!!!!!!!!!!

No more hotel costs, meals out, parking expenses, childcare, worrying what to wear, wanting to get up and wiggle around every 50 minutes...

We also have made all of our courses interactive, with a chat room, so that you may discuss the courses with other students as you take them!

may be found at http://www.psychboard.ca.gov/

Q. I am a California Psychologist. Do your courses count?
A. Our approval by American Psychological Association to offer continuing education for psychologists is accepted by MCEP, which administers the CA BOP ceus.
The California Board of Psychology states:

 

The MCEP Accrediting Agency (MCEPAA) is the approved entity to administer the Board's continuing education program. They are solely responsible for approving and maintaining a list of qualified providers. To obtain a provider list, contact MCEPAA by phone at 916-325-4720 (Fax: 916-325-4748) or by visiting their website at www.calpsychlink.org.
Which courses count toward the continuing education requirements?
The following courses count toward the continuing education requirements:
* Courses that are approved by MCEPAA
* Courses that are provided by American Psychological Association (APA) approved sponsors
* Courses that are Continuing Medical Education (CME) courses specifically applicable and pertinent to the practice of psychology and that are accredited by the California Medical Association
http://www.psychboard.ca.gov/

Mandatory Continuing Education Requirements

http://www.psychboard.ca.gov/

Questions and Answers from the California Board of Psychology

What is continuing education?
Continuing education means the variety of forms of learning experiences, including, but not limited to, lectures, conferences, seminars, workshops, grand rounds, video conferencing, and distant learning technologies. "Distance learning" means the variety of forms of organized and directed learning experiences that occur when the instructor and the student are not in direct visual or auditory contact. These include, but are not limited to, courses delivered via the Internet, CD-ROM, satellite downlink, correspondence and home study. Up to eight hours of continuing education during each renewal cycle can be accrued through distance learning technologies. Distance learning courses must meet all standards of an approved continuing education course.

How much continuing education must be completed?
All licensed psychologists must have completed at least 36 hours of acceptable continuing education each time they renew their license.

Do I have to take any specific courses to meet the board's continuing education requirements?
Pursuant to section 1397.61(c) of the California Code of Regulations, any person renewing his or her license on or after January 1, 2000 shall provide written evidence to the board of completion of a continuing education course of no less than four hours in length in the subject of laws and ethics for each license renewal cycle.
Additionally, pursuant to SB 564, Chapter 481, Statutes of 2002, any person applying for renewal who began graduate study prior to January 1, 2004, is required to take a continuing education course in spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection, and intervention strategies during his or her first renewal period after January 1, 2004 and shall provide written evidence to the board of completion of a course in spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection, and intervention strategies. Equivalent courses taken prior to this date or equivalent teaching of practice experience may be submitted and accepted by the board of this requirement.

(Source:http://www.psychboard.ca.gov/)

Form to report your CEs:
http://www.psychboard.ca.gov



The California Board of Behavioral Sciences

home page is at
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/

Please go to the Continuing Education page of the CA BBSE for general information regarding continuing education requirements. In California, if you are renewing an initial license, 18 hours of CE are required and 36 hours will be required for all subsequent renewals. All other renewals are required to have 36 hours of CE to renew.

BBS Required Courses in California

MANDATORY COURSES

1. Spousal or Partner Abuse- New Info Button

Effective January 1, 2004 all licensees will be required to complete a one-time course in spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection, and intervention strategies including community resources, cultural factors, and same gender abuse dynamics. There is no hour length specified for this requirement. The Board may accept evidence of completion of an equivalent course or courses taken prior to January 1, 2004 or may accept prior teaching or practice experience in order to fulfill the continuing education requirement.

2. Law and Ethics New Info Button

Any person renewing their license on or after January 1, 2004 is required to have completed no less than six hours of continuing education in the subject of Law and Ethics for this and each subsequent renewal. The six hours shall be considered part of the 36 hour CE requirement.

3. Aging and Long Term Care New Info Button

Those persons who began graduate study prior to January 1, 2004 must complete a 3-hour continuing education course in aging and long term care. The course could include, but is not limited to, the biological, social, and psychological aspects of aging. The Board may accept evidence of completion of an equivalent course or courses taken prior to January 1, 2005 or may accept prior teaching or practice experience in order to fulfill the continuing education requirement.

4. HIV/AIDS

One of the mandatory CE courses is HIV/AIDS. This is a one time requirement due with your first renewal. The HIV/AIDS course must be at least seven hours in length and cover the characteristics and method of assessment and treatment of people living with HIV and AIDS.

Exception: If you have taken HIV/AIDS courses in the past, or if you have equivalent teaching or practice experience, you do not need to retake the HIV/AIDS courses. Previous coursework or experience cannot be credited towards your CE hours.

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/
Please check this link often, as the requirements do change!

Online Courses

This amendment to Section 1887 of Article 8, Division 18 of Title 16, of the California Code of Regulations allows licensees the convenience of obtaining all 36 hours of required continuing education through interactive, electronic means and to allow continuing education providers the opportunity to offer all trainings from another location by way of audiovisual means.

Self-Study Regulations

WHAT IS A SELF-STUDY COURSE?
A self-study course is a course offered by an approved provider that requires the use of a text or book, and invloves a post-test.


HOW MANY HOURS CAN I GAIN THROUGH SELF-STUDY COURSES?

You can accrue up to one-third of your CE hours through self-study.

Supervisor Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's)

 

These frequently asked questions (FAQ's) are for Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (MFT's) and Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW's) who supervisor either MFT Interns, Trainees, or LCSW Associates.
1. I AM SUPERVISING MFT INTERNS (Interns) AND/OR TRAINEES. HOW MANY HOURS OF SUPERVISOR TRAINING AM I REQUIRED TO OBTAIN?
Effective January 1, 2000, you will need to have completed within sixty (60) days of commencement of supervision a minimum of six (6) hours of supervision training or coursework. Thereafter, you will need this training every two years. This training may apply towards the continuing education requirements.
2. I AM SUPERVISING LCSW ASSOCIATES (Associates). HOW MANY HOURS OF SUPERVISION TRAINING AM I REQUIRED TO OBTAIN?
Effective January 1, 2001, you will need to have completed fifteen (15) contact hours in supervision training obtained from a state agency or approved continuing education provider. This training may apply towards the continuing education requirements.
3. I AM SUPERVISING INTERNS, TRAINEES AND ASSOCIATES. WILL I NEED BOTH 6 HOURS OF SUPERVISION TRAINING FOR INTERNS AND 15 HOURS OF SUPERVISION TRAINING FOR ASSOCIATES?
No. You are only required to obtain fifteen (15) contact hours in supervision training. The six (6) hours required for supervising Interns can be included in the fifteen (15) hours. However, if you continue to supervise Interns you will need six (6) hour of training every two years.
4. WILL I BE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT PROOF OF COMPLETION OF THIS TRAINING?
No. However, upon written request of the board, the supervisor shall provide to the board any documentation which verifies the supervisor's compliance with the requirements.
5. SUPERVISORS OF INTERNS: CAN COURSEWORK TAKEN PRIOR TO JANUARY 1, 2000 COUNT?
Yes. Coursework completed between January 1, 1997 and December 31, 1999, may apply.
6. SUPERVISORS OF ASSOCIATES: CAN COURSEWORK TAKEN PRIOR TO JANUARY 1, 2001 COUNT?
Yes, Cousework completed after January 1, 1999 may apply.

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/
Please check this link often, as the requirements do change!


California Board of Registered Nursing

We are approved by the CA Board of Registered Nursing as Provider#13620.
psychceu.com
1104 Canyon Rd.
Santa Fe NM 87501

California Requirements for Registered Nurses

RNs must keep their certificates of course completion for a period or four years.

To figure out the number of contact hours, multiply the number of units by 1.2. Therefore, a 6 ceu course is equal to 7.2 contact hours; a 10 ceu course equals 12 contact hours, etc.

Each course has a box at the end of the post-test to check if you need a BRN certificate.

License Renewal Information may be found online at:
http://www.rn.ca.gov/

Independent or Home Study Courses
Approved providers may offer Independent or home study courses. There is no limit to the number of contact hours that can be completed through independent or home study courses. It is recommended that a description of the methodology used to grant contact hours for these courses be developed and kept on file by the CEP so that questions/complaints raised by those taking the course can be addressed by the Board.

The CA Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians acknowledges
www.psychceu.com and psychceu.com as approved providers on Continuing Education in the following response to our query:


Yes, if you are a Board-approved provider with the California Board of
Registered Nursing (BRN), your continuing education courses can be used by
licensed vocational nurses and psychiatric technicians to meet their
continuing education requirements for license renewal. You may use your
BRN continuing education provider number on their course completion
certificates.
Section 2540.2(b) of the Vocational Nursing Rules and Regulations states:
"Continuing education courses approved by nursing licensing agencies of
this or of other states, or nursing organizations of other states, or
courses considered comparable by the Board will be accepted.
Section 2592.2(b) of the Psychiatric Technician Rules and Regulations also
states: "Continuing education courses approved by psychiatric technician
or nursing licensing agencies of this or of other states, or psychiatric
technician or nursing organizations of this or other states, or courses
considered comparable by the Board will be accepted.
Should you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact the
Board again.
JEANNE M. TEMPLEMAN, MSW, RN,CS, CNS
Nursing Education Consultant
Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians
2535 Capital Oaks Drive, Suite 205
Sacramento, CA 95833


Sandplay Therapists of America and the
International Society for Sandplay Therapy


The sandplay therapy courses authored by teaching members of the Sandplay Therapists of America and the International Society for Sandplay Therapy count toward certification in these societies as coursework hours. These courses include Sandplay, The Sacred Healing: A Guide to Symbolic Process; Psyche & Soma: Sandplay Therapy and the Body and Sandplay Therapy and the Liminal World (a video course).

The Association for Play Therapy

www.psychceu.com is approved by the Association for Play Therapy to offer continuing education specific to play therapy. Our provider number is 02-117. www.psychceu.com maintains responsibility for the program. The Association for Play Therapy accepts many of our courses for non-contact training hours, which can be used:


a)To become a Registered Play Therapist
A maximum of 30 of the 150 clock hours of instruction in Play
Therapy may be earned via non-contact training. All hours must be granted by an APT approved CE Provider (Please go to http://www.a4pt.org for all
the criteria)
II. Continuing Education
Once registered, play therapists must complete not less than 36 hours of continuing education every three (3) years to maintain their registration, at least 18 of which must be play therapy specific and granted by APT approved CE providers. Also, not more than 18 of the 36 hours may be earned via non-contact learning but not more than nine (9) of these 18 non-contact hours may be play therapy specific. In addition, 4 hours of supervisor training must be completed/documented within 6 years (or two CE cycles) for those approved prior to 11/1/2000.

The Therapist's Responsibility

Please remember it is the individual therapist's responsibility to check if the courses they want to take will count toward the continuing education requirement, and to maintain records of these courses for license renewal and in the event of an audit.
 

 


To order


www.psychceu.com


e-mail us!

Frequently Asked Questions

888-777-3773

 


© 2017. www.psychceu.com. all rights reserved